This is my song….

I’ve often heard couples talk about “their song”…the song that takes them back to the roots of their relationship, that reminds them of who they really fell in love with, the song that “says it all” by helping them remember the commitment, the desire, the love. “The song” reflects the relationship, or at the very least latches onto a memory.

I was given a gift upon completion of my college experience from a new acquaintance. Although she knew very little about me, she decided to do a little research and put together the meaning of my name. I had always thought that my name, Kristina, meant Christ-follower a derivative of the word “christian”, and that my middle name, Marie, was a variant of the name Mary, which means “sea of bitterness”. So excellent,… “Bitter Christian”, something that comes so easily….(see this is my story ….)

Upon opening the gift, I read the following:

She is anointed with the healing fragrance of God’s love. Though life brings her bitter experiences, her tears will produce a sweet fragrance–trust and grace.

She explained to me that Kristina was a sort of anointing, the process of being chosen and that Marie is related to the word myrrh, meaning “was bitter”. Myrrh is collected by making deliberate cuts into the trunk of a tree. From these wounds ooze tears of resinous sap as the tree seeks to heal itself. These “tears” are necessary for the sweet, not bitter, but sweet aroma that makes myrrh so valuable.

So this is my song…. it’s what is drawing me back to the roots of my relationship with Christ, it reminds me of Who I am really falling in love with. My song “says it all”, it is a reminder to me of the commitment, the desire, the love that I have been promised. Maybe you know the words to the song in my heart….maybe it’s a familiar tune. My song sounds sweet….it sounds like TRUST and grace…it is the tune of God’s anointing.

Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. He who goes out weeping carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him. Psalm 126:5-6

God told them, “I’ve never quit loving you and never will. Expect love, love, and more love! And so now I’ll start over with you and build you up again.” Jeremiah 31:2-6

2 thoughts on “This is my song….

Leave a Reply

